The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien – Prologue + Chapter 1 Book Review

Hello again!

This week has been so busy I feel like I’ve hardly had any proper reading time. Tragic, I know. University work has eased off a bit, and I quit my job so there’s so much more time for reading now, which is always good.

What I have read of The Fellowship of the Ring, is only the prologue and the first chapter. There’s a tiny bit filling you in on what happened in The Hobbit and a load on how the hobbits came to Shire. Also, Bilbo and Frodo had their birthday party. It’s a bit crappy for Frodo though, he has this big party because he’s 33, which is when a hobbit comes of age, so pretty big, and Bilbo totally steals his thunder and disappears. Everyone then forgets about Frodo for a bit, apart from the Sackville-Bagginses who are just jealous they didn’t get any of Bilbo’s treasure. The whole of Hobbiton then proceed to raid Bag End for all its worth and poor Frodo’s left with the ring, no idea how much trouble it will cause him.

So far, I am enjoying it. I have absolutely fallen in love with fantasy books and what I love about the Lord of the Rings, is the huge universe that goes with it. I especially love those with tonnes of history behind them. I feel like I’m only scratching the surface at the moment and it excites me that there’s so much more for me to read so I can get further and further into Middle Earth.

Next Week: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring – J.R.R Tolkien

Leave a Reply

