The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien – Chapter 2 to Chapter 7 Book Review

Hey chaps!

I actually made the effort this week to have some Me time and read a chapter every night. Somewhere between my daily naps, university work and endless surfing of the internet, I managed to read six chapters this week.

Bilbo’s gone and Frodo is left with Bag End. Gandalf has disappeared again, as he does, with no idea of when he will return. Frodo then sells Bag End under the pretence that he’s moving to Crickhollow. Then proceeds to set off on his journey with Sam, Merry and Pippin.

My favourite bit so far had to be the chapter called ‘A Conspiracy Unmasked’. Merry and Pippin tell Frodo that they, and Sam, have known all about the Ring and Frodo’s intentions to leave for ages. I just thought that it was funny how Frodo thought he had been all secretive about the ring and he’d been so careful not to tell anyone, but had no idea that Sam had been their ‘chief investigator’ all the while. I definitely wasn’t expecting that! So, because of this, Merry Brandybuck has so far earned the status of ‘My Favourite Character’, purely for his deception. Although, for the films, Sam is my favourite character, but book-film comparisons are for another post.

There was one thing that disappointed me though. Gandalf and Frodo are talking and then they notice that Sam’s shears have stopped and then Gandalf pulls Sam through the window and asks him if he’s been eavesdropping. In the film, Sam says ‘I ain’t been droppin’ no eaves sir, honest.’, which is one of my favourite lines in the film, and it wasn’t in the book! However, he does say something similar ‘The ain’t no eaves at Bag End sir!’. But I suppose that’s what I get for watching the films first and reading the book second, there will be things that I’d wish had made it into the film and things that I wish hadn’t, which I highly doubt, since the films are phenomenal.

Next Week: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien – Book One: Chapter 8 to 12 + Book Two Chapter 1+2

Leave a Reply

