The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien – Book One: Chapter 8 to 12 + Book Two Chapter 1+2 Book Review

Hey chaps!

Last time, I left off when Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin had gotten to Tom Bombadil’s house. Tom and his wife Goldberry, really intrigued me. They’re quite a mysterious couple and I really couldn’t figure them out. For the whole chapter, I thought they had ulterior motives, but it turns out they were just being nice to the hobbits. Curse my cynicism.

The hobbits left Tom’s house, got into some trouble in the Barrow-Downs and somehow escaped with the help of Tom. I dread to think what would happen to them if they went the whole journey on their own with no help. They probably wouldn’t have even made it to Bree.

When they did actually get to Bree, and to The Prancing Pony they found Aragorn (Strider). They then went with him to Weathertop, where Frodo gets stabbed, then they somehow manage to get to Rivendell.

They had their council, which was more like show and tell. Everyone spent a good few pages telling the rest of the council what they had been up to, which is why the chapter was so bloody long. Although I did enjoy the brief bit of history we got from Elrond. At the end of the chapter, Frodo had just decided that he was going to take the Ring to Mordor and then Sam decides he’s going too. I do admire Sam for his loyalty, following his Master on a mission like this, even though he knew it would be dangerous and he could have easily stayed at home, that’s what I would have done, but I’m a big scaredy cat.

Who knew that Sam was so musical! There’s a lot of songs in this book and I enjoy Sam’s the most. The songs are one of my favourite parts of fantasy series like this. I get the chills every time I listen to ‘Far Over The Misty Mountains’ from The Hobbit, and I’m glad it got a mention in the book! But maybe my love for Thorin Oakenshield and his honey like singing voice is for another post!

Next time: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien – Book Two: Chapters 3 to 10 (the end!)

Leave a Reply

