The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien – Book Two: Chapters 3 to 10 Book Review

Hey chaps!

Last time I left off with the Company being formed of Aragorn, Gandalf, Legolas, Gimli, Merry, Pippin, Sam and Frodo. They set off from Rivendell, making their way steadily towards Mordor. Again, there was the usual walking and eating. There’s been a lot of action, a good few attacks; from a sea monster outside Moria, then from Orcs in Moria, then of course the Balrog who gets his ass kicked by Gandalf. I did get sad when Gandalf fell, they relied on him so much for the journey, I got slightly worried how they would carry on without him. I suppose those feelings would have been stronger had I not known what happens to Gandalf later (SPOILERS!!). I knew that watching the films first was a bad idea!

I have liked the little bromance brewing between Gimli and Legolas, especially since dwarves and elves didn’t really get along. Perhaps my favourite part of what I had read was when they get to Lorien and the elves make Gimli go blindfolded. What made me laugh was when Aragorn suggests that they all go blindfolded. Just the thought of them all in a line walking through the forest with blindfolds, arms out in front of them and stumbling about made me chuckle. It’s a pity it’s not in the film. It would have been nice as some comic relief from all the heavy drama.

Overall, I have enjoyed the book and found it a really easy read. When I read, I love to get lost in the world and fantasy novels like Lord of the Rings have such huge universes that you can just immerse yourself in. I know I’m only a third of the way through the story, but as a stand alone book, it’s pretty phenomenal. It just amazes me that Tolkien managed to make up all the songs, the names, the intricate storylines and the personalities. What a mind! I, and many others I’m sure, am so thankful that Tolkien thought to use his mind to make such a story that I can enjoy and will no doubt live on forever.

Next Time: The Fellowship of the Ring – Book vs Film

Leave a Reply

