The Two Towers by J.R.R Tolkien – Book Three: Chapters 1 to 11 Book Review

Image

Hey chaps!

At the end of The Fellowship of the Ring, Frodo and Sam leave for Mordor, Boromir is killed and Merry and Pippin are taken by Orcs. Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas decide to go find Merry and Pippin, and as they say ‘hunt some Orc.’

This part of the book focuses on Merry and Pippin’s adventure and also that of Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas (which I will call AGL from now on). Merry and Pippin are captured by Orcs, who mostly behaved more like the Chuckle brothers, rather than Orcs. The Hobbits escape and they meet Treebeard, who in my head had the voice of Robert Baratheon (GoT). I did also love reading when Pippin’s speaking. I just love his Scottish accent in the film and it sounds so good in my head.

Merry and Pippin, then go to Isengard with Treebeard and meet up the rest of the Fellowship, bar Frodo and Sam. AGL, have spent their time following clues to find the Hobbits and Gandalf is back! He kicked the Balrog in the ass and got some shiny white clothes. I do think he could have made his comeback a bit more badass though. He’s just talking to AGL and just randomly rips off his grey cloak. Bit boring really, where’s the wizardry? I was expecting smoke, maybe some fireworks, at least a fanfare of some sort. After Gandalf comes back, they all go to Edoras, grab King Théoden and his men, have a fight at Helm’s deep and then to Isengard.

It never ceases to amaze me how no one has even heard of Hobbits. I suppose that’s because not many Hobbits stray from outside the Shire (why would they? It’s a lovely place to live). Not even the Ents have heard of Hobbits and they’ve been around since forever. I totally understand the feeling. No one seems to have heard of where I’m from either. I’m from Morecambe, a little sea side town in the north west of England. Even when I say, that famous comedian Eric Morecambe was from there, they still don’t get it. It’s only when I mention the people that died there picking cockles that they finally remember that they know where I’m from. Great way to get yourself on the map Morecambe!

I must say, I’m having a hard time writing this review. Nothing really stood out for me while reading this half of the book. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed reading it, but other than Gandalf’s comeback, which I knew was happening anyway, nothing really grabbed me. I will say now, that it will not be long before all these Orcs and hobbits and goblins and magical rings bore me and I need to read about normal people doing normal things for a while.

Next week: The Two Towers by J.R.R Tolkien – Book Four: Chapters 1 to 10 (the end!)

Leave a Reply

