The Two Towers by J.R.R Tolkien – Book Four: Chapters 1 to 10 Book Review


P1010752

Hey chaps!

So I’ve finally finished The Two Towers. It took a while, but I got there in the end.

Book four focuses on Frodo and Sam and what happened to them when they leave the Company at the end of the Fellowship. They set off, find Gollum, go over the marshes, meet Faramir, go up all those stairs, fight Shelob and then Frodo is taken.

 I enjoyed book four. I know it’s the least exciting half of the book, there’s a lot of walking and sleeping, but I found it a lot easier to read. Out of all the characters, Sam is my favourite and I hated having to go through half the book to get back to him. I liked the dialogue between Sam and Gollum, like they were playing ‘Who loves Frodo more?’ Sam obviously wins at that game, because we all know that Gollum is just after the Ring.

Oddly enough, I actually really like Gollum. He may be one of the baddies, but Gollum is only as faithful to the Ring as Sam is to Frodo. I admire Gollum for that. Maybe not for tricking the hobbits and trying to get them killed by a giant spider. Much like Frodo, I pitied Gollum, especially when Sam was being mean to him. It seems like Sam is being unnecessarily horrible to Gollum, he is helping them after all. But in my naivety, and Frodo’s, we were tricked by Gollum and it nearly cost Frodo his life.

I much preferred the Fellowship of the Ring to this book. I can only really describe it like the middle part of a meal. You’ve had the first taste and it was really nice, now you’ve got more of the same which is just as nice as the first bite, but has kinda lost its sense of novelty. Luckily there’s only one more book to read and I’m excited to finally get this finished and move on.

Next Time: The Two Towers – Book vs Film

Leave a Reply

