Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Book Review

hey chaps!

After finally leaving the universe of Middle Earth behind me, my plan for the rest of my reading for this year is to get through as many of the so called ‘classics’ as I can. I thought that I would start with one of the most famous and most loved of the classics, Pride and Prejudice. I have read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, so I’m quite familiar with the story, but I thought that I should read the original version, without the zombie attacks and I found it just as good. It was quite refreshing to read about humans for a change after Lord of the Rings. It only took me two days to read the whole thing, I found it difficult to put down.

So to begin, when we first meet Mr Darcy, everyone disliked him and called him ‘disagreeable’. But I perfectly understand why. We first meet him at a gathering, in a room full of people that Darcy doesn’t know, so it’s obvious that he would be uncomfortable, and it would come off to others as being a bit of an arse. Put me in a room full of people I don’t know and I’m just the same.

I would like to think that in Elizabeth’s position, I would act the same. As Elizabeth did, I know I probably would fall for Wickham’s charm, and would have believed his lies about Darcy, but I would want to know Darcy’s side as well. The relationship between Darcy and Elizabeth does remind me a bit of mine with my boyfriend Joe. But in that case, I’m Darcy and he’s Elizabeth. When we met, Joe said I came off as cold, and though I didn’t really want to like him, as Darcy didn’t want to love Elizabeth, I fell for him anyway.

I especially love all the dialogue between Darcy and Elizabeth. I love how Darcy seems completely taken aback that he has found his match. A woman who is willing to stand up to him and has her own beliefs and ideas, unlike Caroline Bingley who just agrees with everything he says and compliments his handwriting. Elizabeth is one of my favourite heroines, she’s not afraid to be herself and she’s intelligent. She cares for her family and isn’t afraid to show it, even so far as to travel all the way to Netherfield from Longbourne to nurse Jane. 

Caroline Bingley is so horrible! Why do women when they’re jealous, think slagging someone off makes themselves seem better? Telling Darcy that she thinks Elizabeth’s teeth are ‘tolerable’ and that she looks ill will not make Darcy decide he no longer loves Elizabeth and now likes Caroline, especially when its her personality that Darcy loves best.

For some reason whenever I read a book that has a distinctive style, my inner monologue adopts the style of that author. When I read the Southern Vampire Mysteries book, my inner monologue had a strong Louisiana accent for weeks afterwards. My inner monologue and even my writing style has taken the style of Austen and I’ll struggle to drag it back into the 21st century for a while.

If I could travel in time I would definitely go back to the 1800’s for a bit, but make sure I had some money. Life would be so much simpler if all I had to worry about was who I was going to marry.

Jane Austen is a brilliant writer and Pride and Prejudice was so easy to read. I can definitely say now that by the time that I die, I will have read it so many times I’ll know it by heart.

Next Time: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

2 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Book Review

  1. I love your analysis of the novel. As a lover of austen, I appreciate your refreshing comments. It is so interesting that you’ve read the newer book before the classic! I’ve written about the novel on my own blog, if you’re interested. Great read! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

