My Kindle.

This time I thought I’d give you a peek into my Kindle collection. I have the fourth generation kindle which I got Christmas 2011, so I’ve had it a good 3 years now. Like all my other possessions, I gave my kindle a name (for the record my laptop is named Aragorn). I named him after Tyrion Lannister, for his love of books. Seemed fitting really.

When I got a kindle, I heard a lot of people say ‘Oh I could never have one of those. I much prefer physical books.’ Initially, I felt the same when e-readers first came out. I thought I’d never want one because I valued the experience of holding a book. I loved everything about it. The feel of a book in your hands, the smell, turning page after page. I love breaking the spines on new books. But you don’t have to give that up if you buy an e-reader. It’s not like you have to trade your entire collection when you buy one. We live in a world where you can enjoy physical and electronic books.

So without further ado, let have a look inside my Kindle!

 2015-02-01 22.37.45 2015-02-01 22.37.58 2015-02-01 22.38.15

2015-02-01 22.38.33 2015-02-01 22.38.49  2015-02-01 22.39.47

So that’s 121 books there. For those wondering, collection on the first page called ‘History Books’ is a load of books about the Tudor period of history by Alison Weir. Looking at them now, I’ve actually only read about 39 of them so I’ve got loads to get through!

My kindle is perhaps the best thing that I’ve ever been given. Someone found a way to store potentially hundreds of books on a device that’s not even a centimetre thick? Sign me up for that! My kindle goes everywhere with me and I love knowing I have a whole library of books in my bag.

In terms of how it compares to physical books, it’ll never replace the experience. But if I’m reading something, I’m not in it for how the book feels or how it smells, I’m in it for the story. Whether the words are on a paper or on a screen, my imagination makes no discrimination. I read to words just the same, and I live the experience.

The only problem I have with my kindle is, that like a book, you can’t read it in the dark. I have a little light for it that works okay. I did think about possibly upgrading to a Kindle Paperwhite to solve this, but it didn’t seem like it was worth the money to me really. But so far, that’s the only problem I have with it.

So there’s my kindle! Let me know what you think about Kindles and what you’ve been reading!

Leave a Reply

