Only Human by Gareth Roberts Book Review

This week I read the Doctor Who book, Only Human, by Gareth Roberts. The book originally came out in 2005, the year Doctor Who got a reboot. It was then re released in a set to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who. The set featured 11 books, one story for each Doctor, up to and including Matt Smith’s Doctor.

I am going to say now, that I am an avid Doctor Who fan. Unfortunately, I’m one of THOSE fans that’s only watched new Who and not classic Who, but one day I will! Saying that, I’ve never actually read any of the Doctor Who books. I’ve seen them dotted about here and there, but never quite managed to pick one up. I just thought it wouldn’t live up to the show, and how wrong was I?!

After doing some research I found out that Gareth Roberts has done quite a bit of work for DW and he’s written a few episodes such as The Shakespeare Code and The Unicorn and the Wasp. Both of these episodes are brilliant stories, and they’re so well written, I just knew that this book would be just as good.

When I bought this book, the whole set was available to me, so why did I choose the ninth Doctor? Well, Eccleston only did one series of it and I wanted more. My favourite thing about that whole series was the interaction between him and Rose. The one piece of dialogue that always stuck out for me was in the episode The End of the World, when Rose and the Doctor are watching the end of the Earth and she complains that she has no signal on her phone..

The Doctor: [taking Rose’s mobile phone] Tell ya what… with a little bit of jiggery pokery…
Rose Tyler: Is that a technical term, jiggery pokery?
The Doctor: Yeah, I came first in jiggery pokery, what about you?
Rose Tyler: Nah, I failed hullabaloo.

I just love Rose’s quick witted response here and there’s so much more of it in the series and I hated it when it ended. So that’s why I chose the ninth Doctor.

I could literally go on forever about how much I love Doctor Who, but that’s for another time and another place.

So the blurb tells of the Doctor finding a Neanderthal man in modern day London, and he travels back in time with Rose to figure it out. All the while, Captain Jack is told to look after the Caveman, called Das for a whole month.

This book is amazing. I laughed out loud so many times while reading, which doesn’t happen often. One of my favourite moments is when the three of them are looking for what brought the caveman to Bromley and Rose finds out there’s a caveman in the local hospital. After the usual Time Lord magic, they manage to get the caveman out of the hospital. They needed a distraction, so they ask Jack. So Jack being Jack, what does he do? That’s right, he gets naked. NAKED. He runs through a massive crowd, completely starkers. But hey, it gets the job done.

So other than that, I loved the book. It’s so cliché, but I couldn’t put it down! Only took me two days to read it and I’ll be reading it again. The book was really well written and it captured the characters perfectly and that’s what I wanted. I wanted more of the Doctor and Rose and Jack and I got that. The way the book was set out was really good, almost like how a episode is set out. I really liked the diary entries from Das and Jack from their time in Bromley trying to integrate Das into society. It was really interesting to see how Das saw our world and tried to understand everything in it.

I know I’ll definitely be looking out for more Doctor Who books, Ninth ones especially. It was nice to get to travel with him again, to hear ‘Fantastic!’ again even if it was only in my imagination.

I honestly can’t think of anything wrong with this book so it gets a 10/10!

Next time we’re going nautical and it’s Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters!

Leave a Reply

