Hello, my name is Claire and I am a Potterhead.

10991078_10203554507445131_7098781345522235123_nI’m seven years old, on my way to the cinema to see the new film about a young boy who finds out he’s a wizard. I left the cinema enchanted, eager for the next film. Ever since going to the cinema in 2001 to see Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, I was hooked on the wizarding world. As you can tell by the Weasley style initial jumper in my profile picture (see right) I am and will always be a massive Potterhead. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is not only my favourite book in the series but of all time. The books are amazing, the films are brilliant. Nothing will ever match it.

So a couple of months ago all my dreams came true and I got to go to Warner Bros. Studios in London. Ever since it had opened I was desperate to get there. So when the opportunity presented itself to go, I jumped at the chance. Me, Mum, my Step Dad, brother and niece (who loves Harry Potter more than I do) went down to my auntie’s house and stayed there for the weekend.

I will warn you now, there’s spoilers, so if you want to experience it all for yourself, look away now! Otherwise, keep reading and I’ll tell you how great the tour is.

We got there and I was beyond excited. I found it very difficult to stop myself from screaming. I was going to see that actual stuff used in filming Harry Potter. It was like I had died and gone to Harry Potter Heaven. there was so much I wanted to see. I wanted to see Hogwarts, Diagon Alley, the Great Hall.

We walked in for the screening of like a little trailer for the tour and somehow I managed to be sat at the back, in the middle with no one in front of me so I could see everything. That ended, the curtains come up and what do we see, but the entrance to the bloody Great Hall! The exact same doors McGonagall has taken Harry and the others through in their first year!

Wearing my Ravenclaw scarf, I felt right at home. I quickly abandoned my group and walked round on my own. The whole time I was walking round, I was in complete awe. Eyes wide, trying to take everything and not miss anything.

Here’s some of the pictures of my day. I got absolutely loads, but didn’t want to put them all on here and give away the experience entirely!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After spending two hours looking round everything and feeling sad that I had to go. I wanted to stay there forever, I wanted to live there. I loved the whole tour, it was the best experience of my entire life.

The gift shop was just phenomenal. I honestly could have spent thousands of pounds in there. But as I only had £100, I had to be very choosy. After spending probably an hour looking at everything three times, I went hideously over budget and spent £160 on…

DSC_0004

Picture of everything I bought. Hermione’s wand. Voldemort’s wand (Boyfriend picked that!). Tea towel that looks like a train ticket. A chocolate frog. Bertie Bots Every Flavour Beans. Ravenclaw bookmarks. Ravenclaw tie keyring. A pen shaped like Hermione’s wand. A Butterbeer tankard.

DSC_0006

Close up of the little stuff because you probably couldn’t see. A chocolate frog and Bertie Bots Every Flavour Beans both in film style boxes. Ravenclaw magnetic bookmarks, Ravenclaw tie keyring. A pen shaped like Hermione’s wand and Butterbeer tankard.

Me and my best friend (who is also called Claire) are massive Harry Potter fans. I remember when we went to the midnight showing of the last film and got the special edition 3D glasses that look like Harry’s glasses. I even clapped at the end, but I got some strange looks for that.

We both wanted for a long time to get matching tattoos, but we also wanted to get Harry Potter tattoos, so why not both? After months of thinking of what to get we came up with a design and here is what we got….

That's mine on the left!

That’s mine on the left!

Hermione is both mine and Claire’s favourite characters so we got her wand wrapped in a scroll with the Marauder’s Map words on it. There’s footsteps on one side, like on the map and paw prints on the other. It’s supposed to be like an animagus, it’s a man on one side of the tattoo, but a dog on the other. My best friend and I bonded over our joint enthusiasm for HP, so they were the only things I was willing to mark my body forever for.

Some people think being a Potterhead is weird, especially since I’ve met a few closet ones. But my love for the Potter-verse is only the same as a love for sports or video games. It was what kick-started my love for reading. Harry Potter completely consumed my childhood. I’ll never forget waiting for the next film or book to come out, excited to find out what happened next. I grew up with Harry, Ron and Hermione. I went to Hogwarts with them and fought Voldemort.

“Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.” ― J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

