2016: A Year in Books

 

Finally we’ve said goodbye to what seems to have been a horrible year. Never has the need for escapism been so high. 2017 is here, with a skip in its step full of hope for greater things. I’m keeping all my fingers and toes crossed that this year might be better than the last.

This year saw a wealth of adventures, both in and out of books. I fought in wars, Hitler came back, I travelled in time, I became a geisha.

I also finished my first semester as a Publishing Masters student. It seems to have just flown by in a flurry of books and assignments. I’ve enjoyed every minute of it and I’m so excited for next year!

It’s been a bit of an eclectic mix this year. I’ve been mostly making my way through my bookshelf, reading books from the library and stumbling across books on my many adventures. The year kicked off with Harry Potter, as it should. It’s also how 2017 and every year until I die will start.

The book of the year is Priestess of the White by Trudi Canavan. (I had to exclude the Harry Potters or they would be the book for every year!) It was given to me by my very good friend Alex who I’ll thank again for giving me this amazing book. Never have I taken to a book so well. Sometimes you’re just not ready for a book, but I ate this one up like I’d been starving for a month. It was everything I needed and never knew I wanted in a book.

Auraya has just been named a Priestess of the White, to serve as sword and shield of the gods — one of only five so honoured. She finds her unique talents tested to the limit when she travels far from home as an ambassador enlisting others to follow the White.

But Auraya’s relationship with a member of an outcast sect of sorcerer-healers risks bringing her into conflict with others of the White … and possibly destroying her future.

Overshadowing all this is a powerful and mysterious black-clad sorcerer who seems to have a single purpose: annihilation of the White. And he is not alone.

I highly recommend you read this book, especially if you like high fantasy series like A Song of Ice and Fire, but a little less complex. There’s magic and romance and adventure and all things a fantasy series should be.

This is the first year that I’ve actually kept track of what and how many books I’ve read. In total I’ve read 46 books, which on average about eight days per book (check the maths there). As you can see, only a small portion of these books actually made it onto the blog this year.

This year I’ll be aiming for a book every week, with a lot more posts. I probably won’t even make a dent in my ‘To Read’ list as it seems to get a new addition every week!

Thank you for reading my ramblings through the year and I can’t wait for you to see what’s in store for this year! I hope you all had a merry Christmas with lots of books and have a happy 2017 full of adventure!

Leave a Reply

