Truthwitch by Susan Dennard Book Review

16106167_10207898583004305_264872178_o

A huge thank you to the people at Tor Books UK for giving me the gift of this wonderful book!

Have you ever read a book so brilliant, so well written that it feels like it was written just for you? Like the author looked in to your soul, found exactly what make you tick and made a story of it? This is how I felt reading Truthwitch.

It was like someone had taken that machine from Hitchhiker’s Guide that figures out what food you’re craving and makes it, but for books.

In a continent on the edge of war, two withces hold its fate in their hands.

 

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home. Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden  – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

 

All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom. But with war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

As soon as I read that, I knew that I held a book that I would really enjoy. It has everything that I like in a book…

  • Strong female characters that can fight like a badass.
  • A mythical world with magic and witches.
  • The world is on the brink of war so there’s a little bit of politics, but not too much for it to get boring.
  • A little bit of romance.
  • Lots of fighting.
  • Characters that truly fit well together, but are just as interesting on their own.

After a probably ill-advised coffee at 11pm, I stayed up on until 4am reading this book. I just could not put the book down and I knew I wouldn’t be going to be bed until this book was finished with.

I love authors who create entirely new worlds and Dennard has done this very well. I love it when books throw you in at the deep end and flesh out the world as you go along. It’s so vast and full of history and finishing it left me needing more.

I would highly recommend this book if you’re very much into fantasy. I’m sure others have but I can’t think of anything I didn’t like about it.

I’m not ready to leave the Witchlands yet, so I checked out the next one in the series, Windwitch and it sounds just as good as Truthwitch. It’s out in the UK now and I’ll be picking that up as soon as I’m able!

Truthwitch has only just come out in the UK now and you can get it from Waterstones here, which you’ll be doing straight after reading this, right? RIGHT?!

You can also find Susan Dennard and all the latest news from the Witchlands at SusanDennard.com

Featured image by Michael Stern

Leave a Reply

