The Angel Alejandro by Alistair Cross Book Review

Aljandr cover

First off, a huge thank you to Berlin Malcom and Alistair Cross for sending me The Angel Alejandro.

I’m a fan of any sort of biblical or supernatural fiction, so when I saw angel I knew I wanted to read it. It’s described as urban fantasy/dark fiction and I could agree with that. There were touches of horror at times, but nothing to keep me up at night.

Angel or Demon?
Naive and heart-stoppingly handsome, he calls himself Alejandro, and Madison O’Riley has no clue what to do with him. As they set out to recover his lost identity, Madison realizes the mysterious man who saved her life harbors deep, otherworldly secrets that will put her in grave danger.

The Devil is in the Details
Gremory Jones has something for everyone, and for a price, he’s willing to make a deal. Walking the streets in top hat and trench coat, he tempts the citizens with mysterious wares from his shiny black briefcase. But buyer beware: All sales are final – and fatal.

A Scorching New Terror Has Come to Town
The townspeople are changing in appalling ways and it’s up to Madison – with the help of a psychic, a local priest, and the new chief of police – to help Alejandro unlock his forgotten powers before an unspeakable evil tears apart the fabric of existence … and costs them their very souls …

Had I seen it in the library or a shop, I definitely would have gotten this book. It definitely delivered on the blurb, which is important for me as a reader. I don’t like it when blurbs over promise.

The title of the book I feel had a big impact on how I read it. As I already knew Alejandro was an angel, any questions as to who he was were answered for me. It was interesting to be an omnipotent reader and follow Madison as she tried to figure out who Alejandro was.

However, while I liked the story, I feel like it could have done without the sex. I don’t mind when it’s done tastefully, but it was graphic at times and it made me a little uncomfortable. I’m no prude by any means, but it took me a little off guard, I wasn’t expecting it. On the flipside, it does fit with the story since the town gets completely corrupted in an effort to get Alejandro’s soul.

I’d like to know there will be sex before I read a book. They have ESRB ratings for games and films so why not for books?

I liked the variety of characters and how they came together in the end. The chapters jumped quickly from character to character. While some may find it jarring but I liked its fast pace. I could have read for only half an hour but I still felt like there was progression in the story.

Sadly, I was reading this at a time when I could give it little attention. With my university course and work and various other things, I found I had little time to read it. So there’d be huge gaps between readings. The book was very easy to read and I found that even if I’d left it a week, I could pick it back up and follow the story again very quickly.

If you’re into fallen angels, romance and some sexy stuff then definitely give The Angel Alejandro a read.

Alistair author photo

You can find Alistair Cross here and you can buy The Angel Alejandro on Amazon in the UK or the US.

Frame vector created by Alvaro_cabrera – Freepik.com

Leave a Reply

