Broken Branches by M.Jonathan Lee Book Review

DSC_0008Before studying publishing at uni, I wasn’t too bothered about who made the book, it was just a little logo at the bottom.

But now I’m a little bit more aware of what goes into making a book, I find myself attracted to a book more for who published it. For some publishers, it’s a mark of quality. For example, you see a penguin on the spine of a book and you know you’re on to a winner.

Hideaway Fall are a publisher based in Yorkshire. I did my undergrad in Huddersfield so I left a little bit of my heart in Yorkshire and northern publishing is something that I’m passionate about. The industry is so London-centric, us northerners must do what we can to build a community. So I was more than happy to review a book published by the Barnsley based publisher.

HF are a fairly new publisher for those ‘read books. The people who write about books. The people who eat, sleep and breathe books.’ They’re definitely my kind of people!

They currently only have one author, M Jonathan Lee. I don’t often encounter a fellow Lee, so I was more than willing to support the clan and read Broken Branches. 

So I was sent Broken Branches and two days later I finished it.

‘Family curses don’t exist. Sure, seems to suffer more pain than others, but a curse? And actual curse? I don’t think so’

A family tragedy was the catalyst for Ian Perkins to return to the isolated cottage with his wife and young son. But now they are back, it seems yet more grief might befall the family.

There is still time to act, but that means Ian must face the uncomfortable truth about his past. And in doing so, he must uncover the truth behind the supposed family curse.

I honestly wasn’t too fazed for the first few chapters. I have this habit of thinking just because it’s not a book that I would normally go for, it must be bad. I have my prejudices before it’s been given a chance.

However, it was a book that got better the more you read. I did find it incredibly easy to read. The story was gripping, I wanted to find out what this curse was, if it was real and how it would affect the main characters, Ian and Rachel.

Lee writes in a way that you really share in Ian’s obsession as he throws himself into studying his family tree to find the curse. I couldn’t put the book down without knowing about this mysterious force over the family and to find out why Rachel was acting so cold toward him.

I really don’t want to spoil it for you, but the ending was really satisfying. I really didn’t see it coming, but in hindsight, there are things that allude to the ending throughout the book.

A book I probably wouldn’t have picked up in a shop, but I was pleasantly surprised with what I got. Thank you Hideaway Fall!

Broken Branches will be out this in July this year, so not long to wait to see what happens! In the meantime, go check out Hideaway Fall and M Jonathan Lee to see what they’re up to, I know I will be!

 

Leave a Reply

